Anne of Green Gables - online book

The first Story in the Series with Anne Shirley at age 11 to 16.

Published By THE RYERSON PRESS, TORONTO Circa 1908

Share page  


Anne of Green Gables is a book by Canadian author Lucy Maud Montgomery and published in 1908. It was written as fiction for readers of all ages, but in recent decades has been considered a children's book. Montgomery found her inspiration for the book in a newspaper article describing a couple that were mistakenly sent an orphan girl instead of a boy, yet decided to keep her. Montgomery also drew upon her own childhood experiences in rural Prince Edward Island. Montgomery used a photograph of Evelyn Nesbit, clipped from an American magazine and pasted on the wall above her writing desk, as the model for Anne Shirley, the book's protagonist. The whole list of books in the series is shown below.

  Title Year Anne's Age
1Anne of Green Gables 1908 11 — 16
2Anne of Avonlea190916 — 18
3Anne of the Island191518 — 22
4 Anne of Windy Poplars (US&Canada) Anne of Windy Willows (Other) 1936 22 — 25
5Anne's House of Dreams191725 — 27
6Anne of Ingleside193934 — 40
7Rainbow Valley191941
8Rilla of Ingleside192149 — 53