or both of them over the table or in a cushion, he loses two points.
8. If the striker force his adversary's ball over the table, and his adversary should chance to stop the same, so as to make it come on the table again, the striker nevertheless wins two points.
9. If the striker force his own ball over the table, and his adversary should stop and cause it to come on the table again, the striker loses nothing, but retains the lead, because his adversary ought not to stand in the way, or near the table.
10. If the striker miss his adversary's ball, and force his own over the table, and it should be stopped by the adversary, he loses one point, but has the lead if he choose.
11. If the striker who plays the stroke should make his adversary's ball go so near the brink of a hole, as to be judged to stand still, and it should afterwards fall in, the striker wins nothing, and the ball must be put on the brink where it stood, for his adversary to play at the next stroke.
N.B. There is no occasion for challenging the ball if it stop.
12. If the striker's ball should stand on the brink of a hole, and in attempting to play it off he should make the ball go in, he loses three points.
13. If a ball should stand on the brink of a hole, and should fall in before or when the striker has delivered his ball from his mace or cue, so as to have no chance for his stroke, in that case the balls must be replaced and the striker play again.
14. The striker is to pass his adversary's ball, more especially if he miss the ball on purpose, and his adversary may oblige him to place the ball where it stood, and play^until he has passed.